New York City in Black and White

In my last post I wrote about how New York City and the suburban area I grew up in had changed for the worst through the late 1960s and early 1970s. I recommended viewing the movie American Gangster by Ridley Scott as an excellent visual and gut impact way to experience how I remember the city as it was just before we moved away.

As soon as I clicked on the Publish button to set that post, it occurred to me that my father, Bernard Safran had painted and photographed the grimy streets of New York during that period and that I should offer up some of his remarkable images. So here’s a small selection from the over 4,000 black and white photographs my father took of the city scape (these were shown for the first time at the Triangle Gallery in Calgary, Alberta in 2012).

If you want to see a larger version of the horizontal pictures – just click on the picture

next time I’ll post some of his paintings…

Bernard Safran, 2  men in front of derelict building

Bernard Safran, Two Men in Front of Derelict Building

Bernard Safran, Flop House

Bernard Safran, Flop House

Bernard Safran, Tenements with Laundry

Bernard Safran, Tenements with Laundry

Bernard Safran, Girl with Two Children

Bernard Safran, Girl with Two Children

Bernard Safran, Crowded Street

Bernard Safran, Crowded Street

Bernard Safran, Wrecked Cars

Bernard Safran, Wrecked Cars

Bernard Safran, Woman in front of ruined satanic altar

Bernard Safran, Woman in front of ruined satanic altar

Bernard Safran, Doll in High Window

Bernard Safran, Doll in High Window

Leave a Reply

