Adele Makes a Book: Part II

Adele Safran's book of poems, front page c 1967

Adele Safran’s book of poems, front page c 1967

The first book that my mother made by hand was a book of poems.

My Mom’s work room was in the basement of our house. The stairs down to the basement divided the space in equal parts. On the left was a card table that my mother used to do all her work; on the right by the furnace was where my father had a darkroom set up. The rest of the basement was for drying laundry and storing the usual tools and things.

My mother was very patient with me. I used to go down and hang around her while she did whatever she was doing. And when she was doing calligraphy I must have really tried her patience… one distraction and an entire page could be ruined – and I am sure I was enough of a distraction to destroy many pages…

Mom I'm bored, Betty Safran with little braids and bows

Mom I’m bored…. I’m told that I bounced and danced everywhere, a bad combination when someone is trying to do calligraphy on a shaky card table. It must have been exquisitely hard for my Mom not to yell at me.

… moving the table as she worked, leaning in to see what she was doing (my nose under her nose), playing around with her linoleum tools and calligraphy pens.

She never yelled at me, but would patiently ask me to leave if I was too much. More often she’d give me something to do along side her or in my room so that I would be engaged and quiet(er). She even let me use the super sharp cutting tools to make my own linoleum cuts on small scraps.

Mom used our Betsy McCall Designer light table to do her calligraphy (it was meant for designing paper doll clothes). She’d tape a darkly lined paper onto the area that lit up, and then place her good paper over top so that she could see the lines through it and make her words and sentences straight.

She made three copies of the book all by hand: one for my grandmother, one for my sister and one for me. That meant she had to copy out three exact pages for each poem. (3 times the difficulty of doing it when I was around – no doubt she worked most of the time when I was at school.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She illustrated every poem with a unique lino cut. I had my favorite pictures when I was a kid, and obviously my favorite poems.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was less inclined to like the poems about death and sadness – but the book wasn’t meant to be a child’s book – it was meant to be cherished throughout my life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I do cherish it.

2 thoughts on “Adele Makes a Book: Part II

  1. Hi Betty, Rhoda just let me know about this blog, and I spent a few minutes reading and looking at the images this morning. Wonderful stuff. How amazing
    it is to grow up in a family of artists and thinkers. This we share. It was great to relive some of the memories of growing up near you, and that photo of you over “Mom, I’m bored!” is much as I remember you when you were small. I saw Barbara and her daughter Sarah recently. It would be nice to catch up with you as well. Keep writing! It’s wonderful stuff. With love from your cousin Ilene –

Leave a Reply

