My Beginnings: 1960 New York

betty safran bernard safran myartsyodyssey nyc black and white photography Time Magazine  New York Paintings Hello, my name is Betty. I want to tell my story because I think it’s unique, and interesting, and sometimes crazy. You see I grew up with two artist parents in a suburb of New York City during the 1960s.

When I was born in 1960 my father was quite a famous artist and had a following because he painted some of the most compelling portraits for the cover of Time Magazine in the history of the publication (http://www.safran-arts.com/gallery-time-1.html). We were living the high life – cruises, trips to Europe, fancy parties, shiny patent leather shoes… but twelve years later we were eating fried bologna for dinner, and sharing a house with a woodchuck, shrews and bats. In early 1973 we moved from NY to an isolated, run down farmhouse in Eastern Canada, which some people might say was in the backwoods of nowhere.

betty safran bernard safran myartsyodyssey nyc black and white photography Time Magazine  New York Paintings betty safran bernard safran Time M

Our house in Jolicure, New Brunswick, Canada circa 1973, looking up the drive from the road.

I always knew my family was different from my friends’ families. Our lives were steeped in art – art in the museums we went to all the time, art history at the dinner table, art being made at home, art on the walls. I never knew anyone else who had a nude painting of their mother on the living room wall – and it wasn’t just one nude – she was all three of the Three Graces!

My Dad eventually got tired of his painting of The Three Graces, and in 1973 he ended up using it to fix a wall in the hall of our farmhouse. First he scraped most of the painting off and then totally painted over it with white latex paint. That was the end of the Three Graces.

Other nudes of my mother were hung or see-able in the studio where friends, family and neighbors saw them – ugh.  Here she is as Bathsheba…

betty safran bernard safran myartsyodyssey nyc black and white photography Time Magazine  New York Paintings betty safran bernard safran Time M

Bathsheba by Bernard Safran, January 1963, oil on masonite 27.5” x 52”

I have a lot of stories to tell about my artsy life.

Please join me in my travels through time – I hope you’ll find my tales enlightening and entertaining.

2 thoughts on “My Beginnings: 1960 New York

Leave a Reply

